Home > Uncategorized > I don’t need conditionals either

I don’t need conditionals either

While reading John A De Goes’ blog post about how to rid functions of variables tied to conditions, I wondered how I would do that in Perl 6.

The objective of his first example is to compare two strings case insensitive. Easy!

say "abc".fc eq "Abc".fc;

And then my mind started to wander off. I took a mental note and finished reading about ridding of ifs. Returning to my mental note I concluded: “There must be a nicer way to write that!”. It’s Perl 6 after all.

How about the function combinator?

my &ieq = &infix:<eq> ∘ &fc;

That didn’t work because cares about the number of arguments of its first operand but doesn’t about its second. What I actually need would be a loop over the two strings calling .fc on each of them.

my @l = <abc Abc>>>.fc;

So I tried to fix the function combinator resulting in a gist. It’s now special cased for the 2nd operand to have just one argument. I felt a bit uneasy about that solution. Maybe because it would require a PR to Rakudo.

And then I realised that I might just bind a pointy to a operator name. I didn’t doc that so I checked and we indeed missed that spot. Short test via camelia.

my &infix:<foo> := -> {}

That worked. So let’s have a case insensitive string compare infix operator.

my &infix:<ieq> = -> |l { [eq] l>>.fc };
say "abc" ieq "Abc";
# OUTPUT«True␤»

Nice, short and no conditionals that could confuse John.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Brad Gilbert
    July 19, 2016 at 04:40

    Why didn’t you just do sub infix:<ieq> ( |l ) { [eq] l».fc }?

    • July 19, 2016 at 04:51

      As I wrote, I had an idea and the idea surprisingly worked. (That form is not even in roast, nor is it in any S??) Sadly I do not know how my brain works so I can’t possibly tell you why I had that idea. Of cause you can use the boring syntax if you like, but that wouldn’t make an interesting blog post, would it?

    • July 19, 2016 at 05:03

      After thinking about it a while, I may understand why I picked this very functional form. The boring way will inject an operator into the local scope and you can’t redefine the actual code object bound to it. By using an &-sigiled container, you can assign a different sub or block later. That again can save you quite a few conditionals. It’s a bit like using higher order functions without the actual function.

      Rakudo contains another such trick with a one shot local method that’s basically just there to redefine self. Very Zen that. see: https://github.com/rakudo/rakudo/blob/9d3b6d0731681babfb92e13a4a9f76f75728621e/src/core/IO/Path.pm#L23

  1. July 18, 2016 at 23:29

Leave a Reply

